Winter Sports Limited On Fan's Attendance

The Corona virus will inconvenience us into the winter sport...

2011-2012 O'NEill FFA CHAPTER officers and committee chairs): 2011-2012 Front row (l-r): Caleb Ross- Chapter Development Committee Chair, Catrina Spangler- Secretary, Breanna Jakubowski- Parliamentarian and Tasha Lechtenberg- Vice President. Back row (l-r): Michael George- Student Development Committee Chair, Nathan Gotschall- President, Riley Chohon,Treasurer, Brady Wakefield, Sentinel, Jacob Goldfuss- Reporter and Thomas Schipporeit- Community Development Committee Chair.

O'Neill FFA Chapter Annual Awards Banquet

Apr 21, 2011 Updated Dec 21, 2021

by Tasha Lechtenberg

The O'Neill FFA Chapter held the annual banquet on Friday, April 15 in the O'Neill High School multipurpose room. Despite the snow and wind conditions, members, their families, and community members gathered to celebrate another successful year for the young chapter.

Following the meal, the ceremony began with announcing the Greenhand Degree recipients. Greenhand Degree recipients were Riley Chohon, Jonathan Cook, Jacob Goldfuss, Nathan Gotschall, Breanna Jakubowski, Tim Lechtenberg, Keith Sandall, David Shields, Tait Sibbel, and Catrina Spangler. One outstanding Greenhand Degree is awarded the Star Greenhand Award. This award is decided on by the officer team and chapter advisor based on involvement, dedication, and expected continued growth in the FFA. The Star Greenhand Award was given to Jacob Goldfuss. The Chapter Degree is the highest degree awarded at the chapter level. Members must complete requirements including having earned and productively invested at least $150 by the member�s own efforts or worked at least 45 hours in excess of scheduled class time, or a combination thereof, and have developed plans for continued growth and improvement in a supervised agricultural experience program. Chapter Degree recipients were Riley Chohon, Jon Cook, Jericho Day, Michael George, Tasha Lechtenberg, James McCabe, and Brady Wakefield. Star Chapter Agriculture Placement was awarded to Tasha Lechtenberg for her SAE at KBRX. Star Chapter Farmer was awarded to James McCabe for his SAE in forage production and beef placement. Two members of the community were bestowed the honor of becoming honorary members of the O�Neill FFA Chapter. This award is decided on by the chapter members. These individuals are selected based on their involvement and support of the FFA Chapter. This year Rachel Kohlman and Steve Brosz became Honorary Members of the O�Neill FFA Chapter. Mrs. Shane was also recognized for the Cornerstone Award she received during state convention the previous week.

The chapter also recognizes members for their academic excellence with the Chapter scholastic award. Recipients were: senior class- Jewel Krieger, junior class- Tasha Lechtenberg, sophomore class- Brady Wakefield, freshman class- Nathan Gotschall, eighth grade class- Riley Wakefield, and a three way tie in the seventh grade class with Sarah Devall, Bailey Krieger, and Miles Stagemeyer. The chapter recognized and thanked the community and school supporters with a certificate for all that they have done for the chapter in the past year. Chapter Leadership Award is awarded to members of each class for their involvement in the chapter activities. Recipient from the senior class- James McCabe, junior class- Tasha Lechtenberg, sophomore class- Brady Wakefield, freshman class- Jacob Goldfuss, eighth grade class- Caleb Ross, and seventh grade class- Bailey Krieger. The Chapter Workhorse Award is another awarded that is decided solely by member votes. This award is given to the member that the chapter feels has given the most time and dedication. The recipient is award a $50 scholarship to use for a conference or workshop of their choice. This year�s winner was James McCabe. The proficiency applicants were recognized and awarded their metals. Brady Wakefield earned silver metals in agriculture education and equine science at the district level. In agriculture broadcasting placement, Tasha Lechtenberg earned first gold at districts and fifth gold at state. In nursery operations placement, Jewel Krieger earned first gold at districts and first gold at state earning her the opportunity to represent Nebraska at the National level this fall. Contest awards were given out for different judging contest, Career Development Events contest, and Leadership Skills Events contest which took place throughout the year.

On display at the banquet were the chapter scrap book, an FFA puzzle picture put together by Keith Sandall and his family, as well as a quilt made and donated by Martha McCabe. The quilt will be raffled off with the drawing taking place at the May FFA chapter meeting. If you are interested in purchasing a raffle ticket, please contact the agriculture department at the high school or any FFA member. Proceeds from the quilt will help send three of the FFA members to Washington, D.C. this summer for a leadership conference. Mollie Schindler prepared and presented a video of the chapter events from the year. To conclude the banquet the 2011-2012 O'Neill Chapter FFA officers were announced and installed. The 2011-2012 O'Neill FFA officers are: president, Nathan Gotschall; vice president, Tasha Lechtenberg; secretary, Catrina Spangler, treasure, Riley Chohon; reporter, Jacob Goldfus; sentinel, Brady Wakefield, and parliamentarian, Breanna Jakubowski. The retiring senior officers were recognized with a retiring officer plaque for their dedication and service to the chapter, they were president, Jewel Krieger; vice president, Mollie Schindler; treasurer, Nathan Wabs, sentinel,

James McCabe. President Nathan Gotschall concluded the banquet with closing ceremonies. The new FFA officer team will attend chapter officer leadership training in Aurora, which is conducted by the State FFA officer team. Here they will learn about their offices, responsibility, and plan the chapter calendar for the 2011-2012 school year.

0 0 0 0 0
View archive